Main image

Malaysian Chess Blogs Headline Animator

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Pinoy rule Penang

From Philipino ABS-CBN website :-

MANILA, Philippines – Filipino Oliver Dimakiling, out to prove something, re-staked his claim as one of the country's top players when he nipped countryman and fellow International Master (IM) Oliver Barbosa in the tiebreak to rule the 2010 Penang International Open Chess Championships in Malaysia on Sunday.

The fourth ranked Dimakiling, former top player of De La Salle University–Taft, finished with a 9-round total of 7.5 points on 6 wins and 3 draws to annex his first major title this year.

The veteran campaigner from Davao City, playing under the banner of National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) President/ Chairman Prospero "Butch" Pichay Jr. finished with a tie for first place with the top-seeded Oliver Barbosa.

Dimakiling, however, won the title with a superior tiebreak score of 54.5 against the latter's 53.5.

With the victory, Dimakiling and Barbosa's performance boosted the nation's morale, said Pichay who also chairs Local Water Utilities Administration (LWUA).

"Once again, our flag has been raised in the foreign land after knowing that our Filipino kababayan Oliver Dimakiling and Barbosa shared the top honor in Penang Open chess meet," he said.

In the final round, Dimakiling split the point with compatriot IM Luis Chiong of Antique.

Meanwhile, Barbosa, who hails from Taytay, Rizal outduelled another Pinoy entry and National Master (NM) Ian Cris Udani of Bacolod City.

Preventing a possible Filipino-dominated event and clinching solo third place, Grandmaster (GM) Niaz Murshed of Bangladesh trounced IM Yves Ranola of Caloocan City with 7 points.

Chiong and Ranola, both finished tied for fourth to fifth with 6.5 points.

Former Philippine Artist Champion Fide Master (FM) Christopher Castellano of Cainta, Rizal, who is seeking his IM title blasted Ismail Ahmad of Malaysia to lead a big group of players with 6 points.

The group included Udani, FM Haridas Pascua of Mangatarem, Pangasinan, NM Edgard Reggie Olay of Davao City and FM Julius Joseph de Ramos of Manila, IM Mas Hafizulhelmi, Edward Lee, Ng Tze Han and Tan Khai Boom of Malaysia and Andre Jerome of Singapore.

Final Standings:
7.5 points – IM Oliver Dimakiling (PHI), IM Oliver Barbosa (PHI)
7 points – GM Niaz Murshed (BAN)
6.5 points – IM Luis Chiong (PHI), IM Yves Ranola (PHI)
6 points – IM Mas Hafizulhelmi (MAS), FM Haridas Pascua (PHI), Tan Khai Boom (MAS), NM Edgard Reggie Olay (PHI), FM Julius Joseph de Ramos (PHI), NM Ian Cris Udani (PHI), Edward Lee (MAS), FM Christopher Castellano (PHI), Andre Jerome (PHI), Ng Tze Han (MAS)


Post a Comment

RSS Feed